Singing in Bloomfield

Last weekend, I had a concert with the Farmington Valley Chorus at Old St. Andrew’s Church in Bloomfield. My concert itself was awesome – I love performing. What I really enjoyed though, was the venue!

Old St. Andrew’s is in a somewhat rural part of Bloomfield, near the Simsbury line. It’s not the first image that comes to mind when you think of Bloomfield, considering it’s a town that borders West Hartford, Hartford and Windsor which are more city-like. I had to take a few back roads through Simsbury and Tariffville to get there, and it was a wonderful ride.

My journey took me near Heublein Tower, a hiking trail with a statuesque tower overlooking the Farmington Valley at the summit. I’ve done this hike a few times, and the views always amaze me. When the weather is clear and sunny, you can see all the way to Hartford! Past Heublein Tower is the quaint village of Tariffville, nestled in woods and fields that seem like the perfect place for children to explore and play. After passing through Tariffville, I took a short ride on the highway and arrived at Old St. Andrew’s!

Old St. Andrews is tucked away on a narrow rural road, surrounded by trees and next to a small river. You couldn’t picture a more peaceful environment to place a church. I parked in the lot across the street, and entered through the sanctuary. The church is at least 150 years old, and has gorgeous stained glass windows that let in the lingering rays of sunset as I walked in. The sanctuary was cozy but ornate at the same time, which was pretty cool to see. We didn’t end up performing in there – we were in what I would guess was their “Fellowship Hall” (or where you go after church services to get coffee and food), which was definitely more modern. They must have done an addition somewhat recently, because the church is a lot bigger than what it looks like on the outside.

I am so excited about this weekend – a friend of mine is having a birthday celebration! You’ll have to come back to see how it goes!

 

Leave a Reply

