My Weekend in Bridgeport

Anything can Happen

Last weekend was the definition of “anything can happen”. Aside from my weekly exercise class, I had no plans; leaving me itching for adventure. I called one of my friends to see what he was up to, and he invited me to come down to his place and go to the Bridgeport Sound Tigers game that evening. The Sound Tigers were in the Calder Cup playoffs and playing a formidable opponent; the Toronto Marlies. Based on what my friend was telling me, I knew it would be an exciting game.

Bridgeport is, well, interesting. Some areas are nice, and some make the Family Guy reference to Bridgeport seem quite accurate:

My friend and I ventured around Black Rock, which is a very pretty part of Bridgeport right near the Fairfield line. It’s a quiet neighborhood with lots of families next to a beautiful park called Saint Mary’s by the Sea.

Saint Mary’s by the Sea

Saint Mary's

Saint Mary’s is situated along a waterway that leads into Long Island Sound. It’s not your typical park with playgrounds and such; more of a picturesque trail with gorgeous views. Situated around Saint Mary’s are stately houses with manicured lawns, some of them dating back to the 1800’s. One of the more interesting ones is a mansion set on a sandbar in the middle of the waterway. I don’t remember the exact story behind it, but it’s exciting nonetheless.

After walking at Saint Mary’s, we made our way down to the Webster Bank Arena for the game. I’ve never been there before, but I was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. It’s a smaller arena built in the early 2000’s, and it is very bright and appealing. Unlike the XL Center, the concession area of the arena only loops in a semicircle and the food is MUCH better. They actually had a booth for gluten free food, which I thoroughly appreciated! My friend and I got our food and made our way to our seats, which were also really good. The game itself, on the other hand, quickly turned ugly. Toronto was an AMAZING team and lived up to their reputation as one of the best in the AHL. Bridgeport couldn’t match up to their intense style of offense and lost the game 4-1. I returned home that evening having enjoyed my time down in Bridgeport…for now.

Guess what? It’s back to Bridgeport!

That night, after I returned home, my friend called me to inform me I had left my wallet at his apartment. While he initially offered to bring it up to me, I decided to go to him to get it. Since it was midmorning when I arrived, we chose to go out to breakfast. We went to a restaurant called The Circle Diner, which is a diner connected to a larger motel. They have a good selection of breakfast food, including a couple of gluten free options. I ended up getting their Circle omelette, which had slices of chicken breast, spinach and cheese; along with homefries and gluten free toast. I found the omelette to be a little dry, but I enjoyed the toast and the homefries.

This weekend is going to be fun – it’s another friend’s birthday! Keep reading to find out what happens next…

 

Leave a Reply

