Father’s Day in Lake George

Last weekend I spent Father’s Day in Lake George, NY; one of my favorite places to vacation. I’ve been going there with my family for over fifteen years and have made tons of memories along the way. This time was no different.

Davidson’s and LARAC

One of the first things my family does when we go to Lake George is stop at Davidson Brother’s Brewing Company in Glens Falls. Davidson’s is a family-friendly restaurant with delicious pub food, including gluten free options! I had their turkey apple melt, which was light and satisfying. My family also split an order of nachos that I enjoyed. You can’t go wrong with a meal from Davidson’s!

When we were leaving Davidson’s, we saw a couple carrying a set of unique looking planters. This, in turn, led us to the Lower Adirondacks Region Arts and Crafts festival, or LARAC. The LARAC is a huge festival in the center of Glens Falls with a wide variety of vendors. I had bought a beautiful bracelet with a tree of life pendant on it; however, it slowly began to fall apart during vacation. I was disappointed, but overall the festival was enjoyable!

Prospect Mountain

Prospect MountainThe next day was Father’s Day, and we decided to commemorate the occasion with a hike to the top of Prospect Mountain. Prospect Mountain provides gorgeous views of Lake George and a variety of trails you can hike. We decided to take the shortest trail, which took us a mile to the summit. Once we were there, we saw a large picnic area and the remains of a cable car system! Back in the 1800’s, Prospect Mountain had a set of cable cars that would take people up to the summit and back. Unfortunately the expense of running the cars became too much, and the system was taken out of service. The views were the best, though. You can see all of Lake George and the surrounding Adirondack Mountains. It was spectacular!

The rest of our time was spent either at the lake or in the quiet village of Bolton Landing. Bolton Landing has a main street with lots of cute gift shops and cafés, including Ria’s Bakery and Cafe. Ria’s has a variety of coffees, teas and sweets; including some gluten free options. I was impressed with their lattés and chai tea.

Overall, my trip to Lake George was the perfect getaway. I would definitely recommend coming to the lake for a vacation!

One thought on “Father’s Day in Lake George

  1. My husband and I go to the Adirondacks at least once each summer and I am looking for more short hikes to do — I will have to remember the Prospect Mountain hike for next time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

