New Hampshire Part One – Meredith and Lost River Gorge

Greetings! The end of August was my much-needed vacation to the Lakes Region of New Hampshire, near Lake Winnepesaukee. I’ve been coming up here for the past few years with my family, and it has always been an adventure! I’ve done a lot of different activities, including swimming and relaxing at the house my family rented.

Meredith

We have been staying in Meredith, NH since we started vacationing here in 2014. It’s a small lake community with a quiet, beautiful downtown. At least once a day I will walk from the lake house and visit some of the shops, hoping to find a souvenir or two during my excursion. One of the best parts of downtown is Hermit Woods Winery, which specializes in fruit wines made on-site. They hold wine tastings every day and winery tours on the weekends. My favorite wine to purchase from them is their Harvest Apple, a smooth golden wine that is sweet without being overpowering.

Further into Meredith is the Mill Falls Marketplace and Hotel, which is home to my new favorite restaurant; Camp. We visited Camp on our first night in Meredith after a brutally long travel day. When we entered the restaurant, we were greeted with a platter of crackers and cheddar cheese. The restaurant is comfortable and full of dark wood, reminiscent of cabins at summer camp. The staff was friendly, but the real star of Camp is the food! I had their gluten free lobster mac and cheese, which had the perfect ratio of lobster to cheese. It was rich and filling, so much so that I took some home for lunch the next day! My family loved this restaurant so much that we went there a second time during the week!

Lost River Gorge

Lost River Gorge That Tuesday, my mom, grandmother and I drove up to North Woodstock, NH and visited Lost River Gorge. Lost River Gorge is a 1.5 mile hiking trail with sixteen impressive glacial caves that were formed millions of years ago. I was excited to go here and see them in person, having read about them in a local travel guide.

While my grandmother took a leisurely stroll on the Lost River Gorge nature trail, my mother and I descended the stairs 300 feet into the cave trail. The whole trip took us about 50 minutes, since there were a few caves I couldn’t visit because the entrances were too small for me to fit. The ones I did see, however, were incredible! Pictures cannot do them justice, especially because the scenery around them is just as gorgeous. At one point, you can see three peaks of the White Mountains in a distance!

CascadeThe great thing about visiting Lost River Gorge is that it is a workout. As a result, we were famished! Fortunately we found a cute restaurant in the center of North Woodstock called Cascade. Cascade offers delicious food with unique ingredients, as well as a variety of specialty coffee drinks. I had their vegetarian quinoa burger on a bed of greens with duck fat roasted potatoes, along with an iced Irish Chai Tea (chai tea with a shot of Irish Cream flavoring). Everything about my meal was amazing! I couldn’t get enough of the flavor of the quinoa burger, and the roasted potatoes melted in my mouth. I would definitely recommend coming here!

Stay tuned – the next part of my New Hampshire vacation will be coming soon!

Leave a Reply

