De-stress in Northampton

Catching Up

The past few weeks haven’t been too out of the ordinary. I had one weekend where I didn’t stray far from home. Then there was Halloween.  I had attempted to attend the New Britain Museum of American Art‘s Museum After Dark Halloween party that Friday night.  This event is SUPER popular: people come in amazing homemade costumes, and there are lots of fun things to do. This year was so packed that the event was sold out before 7 PM…and I hadn’t pre-ordered my ticket. Night one of Halloween weekend = bust. The next night, a group of my friends and I went to Rooftop 120 in Glastonbury for their Halloween party. I will admit to not being impressed with it; the contests they were holding were poorly organized and it took WAY too long to hand out the prizes for them.

After Halloween I went out to a Hartford Wolfpack game with one of my friends. We got dinner at Agave Grill beforehand, and it was DELICIOUS! I got the enchiladas, which I really enjoyed. Then…a little event called the Presidential election happened. Like a lot of people I know, the aftermath of the election really stressed me out. Fortunately, I found a way to escape: grab a bunch of my friends and go to Northampton!

Northampton: A Beautiful Escape

How can I describe Northampton besides gorgeous? The center of town is lined with old brick buildings that are charming and full of character, and from the hills you can see beautiful views of the countryside. Entering Northampton gives one a sense of peace, knowing that you can escape the stresses of the day.

We were going up to Northampton to visit a small liquor store and charcuterie called Provisions, which was having an open house that day. As my friends and I entered Provisions, we realized that they had marketed the event very well. There were lines of people everywhere we looked sampling a varied selection of wines and cheeses. My friends and I partook, and were impressed with the different wines we tried. It was a new and different experience!

Next, we decided to get an early dinner at Osaka Japanese Restaurant across the street. We sat in their heated sunroom, which provided beautiful views of Northampton and the accompanying sunset. Between the four of us, we dined on their delicious sushi rolls; pad thai; and beef asparagus and edamame. The whole experience was relaxing and fun, and the night was just beginning.

After dinner, it was time for some shopping. Our first stop was Raven Used Books, a mecca of literature of all kinds. The only store I know similar to this is The Book Barn in Niantic. It has a similar aesthetic: books piled in bookshelves as high as you can see, categorized by subject. It’s a great place to explore, even if you don’t find anything! Next was Faces, a large department store with two floors of interesting and eccentric wares. Shop Therapy was even cooler; it specializes in clothing and accessories for alternative lifestyles. We had a lot of fun exploring, but it soon became very cold. At one of my friend’s suggestion, we ended the night at Dobra Tea.

The only way I can explain Dobra Tea is calm. The low lighting and bold colors throughout the restaurant make it one of the coolest places we visited. The tea, of course, was unbelievable; Dobra has over 100 different types of tea to choose from. They also have dessert from local bakeries, and all of it was delicious! I had their Tulsi Chai and their gluten and dairy free cheesecake. I was completely satisfied with everything I had, and so were my friends.

This small getaway did exactly what it was supposed to do; leave everyone relaxed and stress-free. I am already thinking about the next time I will drive up there!

3 thoughts on “De-stress in Northampton

Leave a Reply

