Happy 2017!

Happy 2017 from Outside my Nine to Five! Like most people, my holidays were filled with family, shopping and (of course) food. I was able to do a few things that were fun since my last entry, though! Here’s a quick recap of the end of 2016:

Not Just Another Holiday Show

After Simsbury Celebrates was my chorus’s annual holiday concert. As the name indicates, it wasn’t your typical holiday concert. We had trivia, “elves” running up and down the aisles handing out candy canes, an opera singer, and the most entertaining version of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” I have ever witnessed in my life. Picture a church sanctuary, people sitting in the pews anticipating their turn to sing along. As their day of Christmas is called, they joyfully spring out of their seats and pantomime the animal or object given that day. As time goes on they try to outdo the other groups and show that yes, their day of Christmas was indeed the best day. My chorus was standing on the risers watching the absolute hilarity occurring in front of us; wondering “How are we going to top this next year?” Needless to say, this concert was one for the record books.

Creative Candles

Since starting this blog, I’ve realized that “outside my nine to five” isn’t solely what I do on the weekends. Sometimes I get the opportunity to explore fun places during the week, especially if I have paid time off. The week before Christmas, I took one of my friends to Creative Girl Studios. Since we were both coming from work, we decided to begin our evening with  dinner at Mikado Asian Bistro in Middletown. Mikado is an upscale restaurant serving fresh sushi and other Asian-style cuisine. The restaurant itself is very cool – the walls are a beautiful blue color, and there is a huge artificial tree in the center of one of the dining rooms! My friend and i both ordered sushi, which was delicious! Afterwards, we were ready to head over to Creative Girl!

img_1788Creative Girl Studios is located on the second floor of an office building across from the Ford restaurant. From Main Street, you can see the fun wind0w hangings that welcome you into the studio. Inside, the studio is broken out into a few separate spaces: one is for smaller parties, and one is for larger groups. Separating the two is a relaxing waiting room with an old-fashioned chaise lounge. My friend and I were excited to be there and ready to exercise our creative muscles!

The activity for the evening was making soy candles, guided by Megan from The Higganum Company. The Higganum Company specializes in making all-natural soy candles, some of which contain essential oils. That evening we had a sampling of fragrances and colors to make three beautiful soy candles to present as gifts. The process was easy and tons of fun! I made a Lemon Verbena candle for my grandmother, and a Frasier Fir and a Cinnamon Chai candle for myself. My friend and I were quite happy with the results of our handiwork, and are interested in doing a candle-making event again!

The rest of my holidays were spent with family and friends, visiting many haunts that I’ve written about previously on Outside my Nine to Five. I am looking forward to seeing what 2017 will bring me; including new adventures to write about. Keep an eye on the blog to see what I am up to! Also, if you have suggestions of places to go in Connecticut, Massachusetts or Rhode Island, please leave them in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

